top of page

Written Word Wednesday

Anxiety (The Journey Within):

My heart constricts, locked tight

Like the jaws of an animal/

Today's troubles, eating away at myself like a cannibal/

Breathing uneven, eyes dilated/

A pain set so deep inside me, that I almost feel violated/

Understand me, as my body fails/

Not being able to calm the mind, I exhale/

But what fills my lungs is worry and confusion/

And a crippling angst that feels unhuman/

Calm. A feeling that I cannot seem to summon/

An unwelcome guest, that came so sudden/

"Breathe," I say. "Breathe."

I'm trying as I feel weak at the knees/

I feel like I'm dying and a part of me wants to succeed/

Close my eyes and swallow the unease/

Block out dread, the feeling beneath/

Anxiety rattles the body and flusters my bones/

Continues to change the thoughts that hoover over like drones/

"Let go. Let me go.

Loosen these reigns, as I'm feeling low/

Take your hands off me, anxiety

You are not my friend/

I have faith, I am strong, against you I will defend/

Get lost anxiety, you have no place here/

Don't come back, don't show your face here."


Donations Accepted

If you want to help me pursue my dreams, donations are welcome. My goal is to pursue my dreams while working in Healthcare.

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page